Nürnberg: Spaghetti Eis

Day 6, 2009: I discover Spaghetti Eis

This was quite common to see for the time we were in Germany.

This was quite common to see for the time we were in Germany.

It was Monday, which is the worst day of the week because typically for me it indicates the start of something academically productive. Yet I actually found the prospect of attending my Gastschwester’s (host sister’s) classes exciting. First period was with Clara’s Englisch class; it was probably too early still, as I don’t remember a single thing about it.

2nd period was Greek–what an awesome class. I learned how to write my name and about the development of Greek and Latin languages. Particularly interesting to me was the word “Kairos” καιρός: an ancient Greek word that means the right or opportune moment. It’s a rhetorical device that’s understood as knowing what to say at the right moment.

During break time, we all met at the Schwarze Box (black box) with Herr Reindl, who would be chaperoning our trip to München the next day. We were given loads of maps and tour brochures, as well as our second allowance of the program so far. There were only two of us ones who had to wait for our Gastgeschwister (host siblings) to finish their classes after the meeting, so we played a few rounds of foosball. I was terrible.

My Gastvater (host father) told me he’d make Pfilzgoulasch (mushroom goulash) for me for lunch. Buuuuuut…I really wanted to explore the city after school. While I felt guilty, I still told Clara to go home first without me and to tell Gastvater. Seven of us went sightseeing in the old town, but split up in groups of 2-3 for lunch. Cory and I ate at a Döner place. No vegetarian food. Ended up getting Panda Express. Should’ve stuck with the Pfilzgoulasch.

IMG_2072We all then met up at a department store chain called Karstadt, which was insanely expensive. Since none of us were particularly interested in window shopping, we set off to discover the wonder that is Spaghetti Eis (spaghetti ice cream). Cost me €6, but what the hell–it was delicious. Spaghetti Eis is ice cream put through a noodle maker so it looks like spaghetti. Then some sort of berry jam or reduction is poured over it, along with chopped nuts, white chocolate chips, and an unhealthy serving of whipped cream. A waffle cookie tops off the masterpiece. One of the guys suggested visiting a Barockgarten (baroque-styled garden); it was nice. Well-manicured, small, and private. The most fun part about the garden was playing with this marbled, black and orange kitty making its rounds through the hedges. It must have been funny to see a group of 7 teenagers coddling and taking pictures of a cat. The second Barockgarten we visited was large in comparison and behind a Biergarten (!! the most mind-boggling idea I had come across at that age and time). People just sit outside and…drink beer?? What? The coolest part of the garden was this giant clock that the hedges formed.

barockgarten IMG_2095

IMG_2096

Our last tourist stop of the day was Johannis Friedhof (cemetery), to visit Albrecht Dürer’s grave. Dürer was one of the Renaissance men of his day, literally during the Northern Renaissance.  His most famous portrait is a self-portrait of him at age 28. That aside, German cemeteries are really beautiful. They’re unusually, colorfully decorated with flowers (by American standards). One of my friends and I rode the S-Bahn back to the Hauptbahnhof (central train station) together. I discovered there how byzantine the Fahrplan (timetable) is. Luckily, I double-checked with the conductor the direction of the train I thought was heading towards Roßtal to find that it was going to Dresden. Oh. Good catch. Took the train home alone for the first time; I felt so independent!

IMG_2097 And I still got my Pfilzgoulasch at the end of the day. Die beste Gastvater in der Welt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

